Skip to main content

Massena Central School District

Main Menu Toggle

Title VI ~ Native American

What is Title VI?
Title VI is a federally funded formula grant program that currently services 270 Native students in the Massena Central School District. Our program continues to provide courses and services that support our Mohawk Language and Culture Instruction. We also provide academic instructional support and enrichment activities.
 
 Title VI, Part A – Indian Education supports the efforts to meet the unique educational and culturally related academic needs of American Indian and Alaska Native students to assist them in meeting the same challenging state student academic achievement standards as other students.
 
Title VI, Part A, Sub-Part 1 – Formula Grants to Local Educational Agencies supports local educational agencies in their efforts to reform elementary school and secondary school programs that serve Indian students in order to ensure that such programs – (1) are based on challenging state academic content and student academic achievement standards that are used for all students; and (2) are designed to assist Indian students in meeting those standards.
 
We are here to help you...
Name Shelby Bero Joanne Jocko Anna Thompson  TBD Stephanie Allen
Title ELA/Math Specialist 
Guidance Counselor Assistant
Support Study Specialist
Mohawk Club Advisor
Support Study Specialist
 
Title VI Coordinator
email sbero@mcs.k12.ny.us  jjocko@mcs.k12.ny.us   sallen@mcs.k12.ny.us 
Location Jefferson Elementary JW Leary Jr. High School Sr. High School Sr. High School District
 
Massena Central is fortunate to have many programs serving students. Some of these programs are housed right here in the school on a full time or part-time basis, others are available to come to the school on an as-needed basis.
Agency Name Phone Number Email
Akwesasne Boys & Girls Club Nikaiataa Skidders 518-358-9911 nskidders@myabgc.com
High School Principal Sarah Boyce 315-764-3710 sboyce@mcs.k12.ny.us
Jefferson Elementary Principal Duane Richards 315-764-3730 drichards@mcs.k12.ny.us
JWL Jr. High School Principal Alan Oliver 315-764-3720 aoliver@mcs.k12.ny.us
Madison Elementary Principal Danielle Chapman 315-764-3740 dchapman@mcs.k12.ny.us
Massena Athletic Dept. Gavin Regan 315-764-3710 gregan@mcs.k12.ny.us
Massena Boys & Girls Club Zach Monroe 315-705-6075 director@bgcmassena.org
Massena Director of Curriculum Stephanie Allen 315-764-3700 sallen@mcs.k12.ny.us
Massena Director of Special Services Susan Lambert 518-358-6630 slamber@mcs.k12.ny.us
MCS Community Schools Coordinator Kristin Colarusso-Martin 315-764-3700 kcmartin@mcs.k12.ny.us
MCS Resource Officer Jody Daggett 315-764-3710 jdaggett@mcs.k12.ny.us
NCSTEP Ryan Ransom 315-705-8054 ransomrt@potsdam.edu
Nightengale Elementary Principal Amy Hornung 315-764-3750 ahornung@mcs.k12.ny.us
SRMT – Adult/Child Protection Marla Light 518-358-9659 marla.daveylight@dfa.state.ny
SRMT – Intensive Preventive IPP-DSS Jean Square 518-358-3416 jean.square@srmt-nsn.gov
SRMT – Preventive Foster Care Joni Cole 518-358-4516 jonicole@dfa.state.ny
SRMT Education Division Stephanie Cook 518-358-2272 stephaniei.cook@srmt-nsn.gov
SRMT Mental Health Wahienhawi Hall 518-358-3141 hawi@regis.nashville.ihs.gov
SRMT Youth Services Ed Division (JOM) Jodele Hammock 518-358-2272 hammock@srmt-nsn.gov